Friday, June 20, 2008

Top NG Airmen Receive Honors, Tour of Washington Sites

Six Air National Guard airmen were given a grand tour of Washington, D.C., this week after arriving in the city to receive Airmen of the Year awards from the service. They toured the Capitol, the Pentagon, Senate office buildings, Arlington National Cemetery and more during their five-day stay. They also met senior leadership, which was quick to praise the men and women. “When you think about what makes our units, it’s these great people,” Lt. Gen. Craig R. McKinley, Air Guard director, said during a welcoming ceremony Sunday at Bolling Air Force Base. “You are the best of the best.”

The honored airmen and their awards are: Senior Airman Charity Orriss, 168th Air Refueling Wing, Eielson Air Force Base, Alaska, Airman of the Year; Staff Sgt. Scott Geisser, 125th Special Tactics Squadron, Portland, Ore., NCO of the Year; Senior Master Sgt. Donna Goodno, 147th Combat Communications Squadron, San Diego, Calif., Senior NCO of the Year; Master Sgt. Daniel Mitchell Jr., 177th Fighter Wing, New Jersey, First Sergeant of the Year; Senior Master Sgt. Rolando Garza, 110th Civil Engineering Squadron, Battle Creek Air National Guard Base, Mich., Honor Guard Member of the Year; and Tech Sgt. Raquel Soto, 105th Services Flight, Stewart Air National Guard Base, New York, Honor Guard Program Manager of the Year.

The honored airmen were chosen through a process of unit, state and national selection panels and included the ranks of senior airman through senior master sergeant. The Army National Guard will announce its soldier and NCO of the year winners in August.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be respectful of others, so they may be respectful to you. Have a blessed day.